Changes in the NMC CBT Blueprint

Changes in the NMC CBT Blueprint

Earlier this month, the NMC’s blueprint for their Test of Competence (ToC) changed. The Test of Competence is an essential part of NMC registration and is made up of two parts: a multiple-choice computer-based test called the CBT (Computer Based Test), and a practical test known as the Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE).

This recent change means that there are currently two versions of the exam, and the one you must take depends on when you apply. You will take the new test if you've started an application, but you’ve not yet taken either the CBT or the OSCE before 2August 2021.

If you've sat an attempt at either the CBT or the OSCE before 2 August 2021, you will have up to 12-months to complete the ‘old’ test, also known as the legacy ToC.

The new structure for the CBT exam will take place in two parts: the first focuses on numeracy and the second focuses on clinical questions for nursing or midwifery. This test ensures competence, skill and capability in nurses, which in turn maintains the practising standards of nurses in the UK. You can read more about these changes and which exam you are eligible to sit here.

The fee for sitting both parts of the CBT remains the same, at £83. You will need to pay a fee should a resit be required. You can take a maximum of three CBT attempts as a part of your registration, but you must wait 10 days between each submission.

We have partnered with Study PRN, a provider of medical exam revision resources, who have provided links to both the legacy Test of Competence, and the 2021 version:

- 'Old' version

- 'New' version

Join Migrate Today

Join Migrate

Visit the web version of the app and gain instant access to jobs, educational resources and a global community of professional health and social care workers.

Join Migrate
Loved by 3,000+ Health and Social Care Professionals
Migrate - The UK healthcare recruitment app